AMAM 2019

The 8th International Symposium on Adaptive Motion of Animals and Machines

Lausanne, August 19th–23rd, 2019

Investigating how animals and humans excel at adaptive movements including locomotion can help engineers to improve the adaptive capabilities of robots. In return, robots can serve as scientific tools to explore the basic principles of biological systems, in particular the neuromechanical mechanisms underlying their fascinating motor abilities. AMAM 2019 is the 9th international symposium dedicated to stimulate fruitful interactions among biologists and engineers interested in adaptive motion. It aims at bringing together researchers in robotics, biomechanics, neuroscience, sports science, and other fields related to behavior in biological and artificial systems. Previous symposia were held in Montreal, Canada (2000); Kyoto, Japan (2003); Ilmenau, Germany (2005); Cleveland, USA (2008); Awaji, Japan (2011); Darmstadt, Germany (2013); Cambridge, USA (2015); and Sapporo, Japan (2017).

Abstract contributions are invited from all areas pertaining to adaptive motion in animals and machines. Accepted abstracts are presented in either oral or poster sessions based on assessed suitability by the program committee. Invited talks and some selected speakers will present in oral sessions in a single track. We also encourage participants to contribute hardware demonstrations, as part of the ‘Robot Zoo’@AMAM2019.

Important dates

January 18th, 2019Opening of the extended abstract submission
March 8th, 2019Deadline of extended abstracts submission
April 12th, 2019Notification of acceptance for extended abstracts
May 31st, 2019Deadline of submission for Robot Zoo (Robot Demos)
August 19th–23rd, 2019Conference

Program committee

Hitoshi Aonuma, Hokkaido University, Japany
Jordan Boyle, Leeds University, UK
Monica Daley, Royal Veterinary College, UK
Koh Hosoda, Osaka University, Japan
Fumiya Iida, Cambridge, UK
Auke Ijspeert, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
Akio Ishiguro, Tohoku University, Japan
Masato Ishikawa, Osaka University, Japan
Takeshi Kano, Tohoku University, Japan

Sangbae Kim, MIT, USA
Jun Nishii, Yamaguchi University, Japan
Dai Owaki, Tohoku University, Japan
Andre Seyfarth, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Emily Standen, University of Ottawa, Canada
Dagmar Sternad, Northeastern University, USA
Barry Trimmer, Tufts University, USA
Eric Tytell, Tufts University, USA
Hartmut Witte, TU Ilmenau, Germany

General chair

Auke Ijspeert, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland